Bank Street Award Winners

The Children’s Book Committee at Bank Street College of Education honors the following three books this month:

The 2007 Josette Frank Award (fiction) goes to Clementine by Sara Pennypacker, illustrated by Marla Frazee (Hyperion) and The Manny Files by Christian Burch (Atheneum)(excerpt). This award honors “a book or books of outstanding literary merit in which children or young people deal in a positive and realistic way with difficulties in their world and grow emotionally and morally.”

The 2007 Flora Stieglitz Straus Award goes to Freedom Walkers: The Story of the Montgomery Bus Boycott by Russell Freedman (Holiday House). This award honors “a non-fiction book that serves as an inspiration to young readers.”

Learn more about the Bank Street Awards.