Awards for Children’s and YA Literature By State

Kansas William Allen White Award winner Sharon Creech with 3-5 graders

Links to U.S. Readers’-Choice & Other-Criteria Awards, by state

We’re honored to host, update and manage this list with permission.

The links to sites about children’s literature awards by states were originally compiled by Melissa Depper of Colorado’s Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award Committee in January 2000 for PUBYAC, a discussion list for Children’s and Young Adult Librarians in Public Libraries. It was not intended to be comprehensive. Melissa updated the list in May 2005. We’ve updated it regularly since.

Cynthia Leitich Smith is an author, not an awards coordinator for any state program (although she is an author-member of the Texas Library Association). If you find a broken link or have any suggestions, please write. SEE ALSO Unique and Creative State Book Award Programs by Gayleen Rabakukk from Cynsations.

U.S. Reader's Choice Awards by State

Alabama Camellia Award (six divisions for K-8 grade, including separate F/NF categories)(click link in the header)


Pacific Northwest Library Association’s Young Reader’s Choice Award (three divisions: grades 4-6, 7-9, 10-12)


Grand Canyon Reader Award (five categories ranging from PB to YA)


Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award (grades K-3)

Charlie May Simon Children’s Book Award (grades 4-6)

Arkansas Teen Book Award (grades 7-9 and 10-12)


California Young Reader Medal (five divisions ranging from PB to YA, including PB for older readers)

John and Patricia Beatty Award 


Colorado Children’s Book Award (picture book and junior novel categories)

Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award


Nutmeg Children’s Book Award (four divisions covering grades 2-12)


Delaware Diamonds (four categories covering grades K-12)

Blue Hen Book Award (younger, middle and teen reader categories)


Florida Reading Association Children’s Book Award (grades PK-2)

Florida Teens Read (grades 9-12)

Sunshine State Young Reader’s Award, Junior (grades 3-5)

Sunshine State Young Reader’s Award (grades 6-8)


Georgia Children’s Book Award (grades K-4 and 4-8)

Georgia Peach Book Award for Teen Readers (YA)


Nene Award (grades 4-6)


Pacific Northwest Library Association’s Young Reader’s Choice Award (three divisions: grades 4-6, 7-9, 10-12)


Bluestem Award (grades 3-5)

Monarch Award (grades K-3)

Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award (grades 4-8)

Abraham Lincoln Illinois High School Book Award (grades 9-12)


Indiana Read Alouds (four categories: primary through high school)

Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award (grades 9-12)

Young Hoosier Book Award (includes picture book, intermediate and MG categories)

Indiana Early Literacy Firefly Award (picture books)


Iowa Children’s Choice Award (grades 3-6)

Iowa Goldfinch Award (PK-3)

Iowa Teen Award (grades 6-9)

Iowa High School Book Award (grades 9-12)


Bill Martin, Jr. Picture Book Award

William Allen White Children’s Book Award (grades 3-5 and 6-8)


Kentucky Bluegrass Award (four categories, K-12 grades)


Louisiana Young Readers’ Choice Award (grades 3-5 and 6-8)

Louisiana Teen Readers’ Choice (grades 9-12)


Chickadee Award (grades K-4)

Maine Student Book Award (grades 4-8)

North Star Award (grades 9-12)


Black-eyed Susan Book Award (PB, grades 4-6 and 6-9, graphic novels and high school)


Massachusetts Children’s Book Award (grades 4-6)

Massachusetts Teen Choice Book Award (grades 7-12)


The Mitten Award (picture book)

Thumbs Up! Award (readers 13-18)

Great Lakes Great Books Award (five categories covering grades K-12)


Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award (grades 3-5 and 6-8)

Star of the North Award (picture book)


Magnolia Award (four categories covering grades K-12)


Missouri Building Block Award (picture book)

Show Me Readers Award (grades 1-3)

Mark Twain Readers Award (grades 4-6)

Gateway Readers Award (grades 9-12)

Truman Readers Award (grades 6-8)


Pacific Northwest Library Association’s Young Reader’s Choice Award (three divisions: grades 4-6, 7-9, 10-12)

Montana Treasure State Award (picture book for K-3 grades)


Golden Sower Award (primary, intermediate and YA)


Nevada Young Readers Award (picture book, young reader, intermediate and YA)

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Ladybug Picture Book Award (grades preK-3)

The Flume: New Hampshire’s Teen Readers Choice Award (grades 9-12)

Great Stone Face Award (grades 4-6)

Isinglass Award (grades 7-8)

New Jersey

The Garden State Children’s Book Awards (easy reader, NF, F, and series for grades 2-5)

The Garden State Teen Book Awards (fiction grades 6-8 and 9-12; nonfiction grades 6-12)

New Mexico

Land of Enchantment Book Award (grades K-3, 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12)

New York

Charlotte Award (primary, intermediate, middle school and high school categories)

North Carolina

North Carolina Children’s Book Award (picture book and junior book categories)

NCSLMA YA Book Award (middle school and high school divisions)

North Dakota

Flicker Tale Children’s Book Award (picture book, intermediate, juvenile and NF categories)


Buckeye Children’s Book Award (grades K-2, 3-5, 6-8, and teen)


Sequoyah Book Award (children’s, intermediate and high school categories)


Oregon Reader’s Choice Award: (grades 4-6, 7-9, and 10-12) Oregon is no longer participating in the Pacific Northwest Young Readers Choice Awards.

Beverly Cleary Children’s Choice Award (books targeted to 2nd & 3rd graders)

Patricia Gallagher Picture Book Award


Pennsylvania Young Reader’s Choice Award (grades K-3, 3-6, 6-8, and 9-12)

Keystone to Reading Book Award (preschool, primary, intermediate, middle school and high school categories)

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Children’s Book Award (grades 3-6)

Rhode Island Teen Book Award (readers ages 12-18)

South Carolina

South Carolina Book Awards (picture book, children’s, junior, and YA categories)

South Dakota

Prairie Bud Children’s Book Award (grades PK-1)

Prairie Bloom Children’s Book Award (grades 2-3)

Prairie Pasque Children’s Book Award (grades 3-5)

South Dakota Library Association Teen Choice Award (YARP) (middle school and high school categories)


Volunteer State Book Award (primary, intermediate, middle school and high school categories)


2 x 2 (ages two through second grade)

Tejas Star (bilingual books)(ages 5-12)

Little Maverick Graphic Novels List (grades K-5)

Lone Star (grades 6-8)

Maverick Graphic Novels List

Tayshas (high school)

Texas Bluebonnet Award (grades 3-6)

Texas Topaz (nonfiction)(all ages)

This site also hosts Texas Children’s Books, Authors, and Illustrators. Any Texas teacher or librarian with URLs to other Texas awards is encouraged to write me with that information.


Beehive Awards (picture book grades K-3, children’s book grades 3-6, informational book grades 3-9, poetry grades K-9, and YA grades 7-12)


Red Clover Award (grades K-4)

Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award (grades 4-8)(being renamed in 2020)

Green Mountain Book Award (grades 9-12)


Jefferson Cup Award (U.S. history, biography or historical fiction; two categories: YA and young readers)

Virginia Readers Choice Award (primary, elementary, middle school and high school categories)


Pacific Northwest Library Association’s Young Readers’ Choice Award (three divisions: grades 4-6, 7-9, 10-12)

Washington Children’s Choice Picture Book Award (grades K-3)

Sasquatch Book Award (grades 4-8)

Evergreen Teen Book Award (teens)

Washington State Book Awards, Scandiuzzi Children’s Book Awards (four categories: picture book to YA)

West Virginia

West Virginia Children’s Choice Book Award


Golden Archer Award (primary, intermediate and middle school categories)


Buckaroo Book Award (grades K-3)

Indian Paintbrush Book Award (grades 4-6)

Soaring Eagle Award (grades 7-12)