ALA Awards

The American Library Association has named its 2007 award winners. See a complete list of the titles on the ALA site. I’ve highlighted titles and/or authors previously featured on this blog.

Newbery Honor Awards went to Penny from Heaven by Jennifer L. Holm (Random House)(recommendation) and Rules by Cynthia Lord (Scholastic, 2006). The John Newbery Medal recognizes “the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature.”

Rules also is the middle grade winner of the Scheider Family Book Award, honoring titles that “embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.” Read an interview with Cynthia.

The Coretta Scott King Awards recognize “African American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults that demonstrate sensitivity to ‘the true worth and value of all beings.'” Copper Sun by Sharon M. Draper (Atheneum) was a CSK award winner. The CSK illustration award went to Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by Kadir Nelson (Hyperion). Read an interview with Kadir. This same title also was recognized with a Caldecott honor. The Randolph Caldecott Medal is “for the most distinguished American picture book for children.”

The Printz Award “for excellence in literature written for young adults” honor books included An Abundance of Katherines by John Green (Dutton, 2006) and The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume One: The Pox Party by M.T. Anderson (Candlewick, 2006). Read interviews with John about Katherines and with Tobin about a previous title, Whales on Stilts (Harcourt, 2005).

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award “for the outstanding book for beginning readers” went to Zelda and Ivy: The Runaways by Laura McGee Kvasnosky (Candlewick, 2006). Read an interview with Laura.

Cynsational Notes

Winners and honorees also listed among my own favorite books of the year included: Penny from Heaven; Rules; Copper Sun; and Moses.