Chrismer, Lay win TSRA Golden Spur Award

The Texas State Reading Association has announced the winners of the Golden Spur award in the children’s literature (K-3). Phoebe Clappsaddle and the Tumbleweed Gang by Melanie Chrismer of Houston (Pelican, 2004) won in the children’s literature (K-3) division, and Crown Me! by Kathryn Lay of Arlington (Holiday House, 2004) won in the intermediate division.

The finalists were:

Children’s Literature: Ima and the Great Texas Ostrich Race by Margaret McManis of Angleton (Eakin Press, 2002); Bats Around the Clock by Kathi Appelt of College Station (HarperCollins, 2000); The Cotton Candy Catastrophe at the Texas State Fair by Dotti Enderle of Houston (Pelican, 2005), Finding Daddy – A Story of the Great Depression by Jo & Josephine Harper (scroll) of Houston (Turtle Books, 2005); Isabel and the Hungry Coyote by Keith Polette (scroll) of El Paso (Raven Tree Press, 2004); Way Up High in a Tall Green Tree by Jan Peck of Fort Worth (Simon & Schuster, 2005).

Intermediate: Angel of the Alamo – A True Story of Texas by Lisa Waller Rogers of Austin (Eakin Press, 2000); Lorenzo’s Secret Mission by Lila and Rick Guzman of Round Rock (Arte Publico Press, 2001); Katherine Stinson – The Flying Schoolgirl by Debra Winegarten of Houston (Eakin Press, 2000); Tofu and T. Rex by Greg Leitich Smith of Austin (Little Brown, 2005).

Cynsational Notes

This was the second presentation of the Golden Spur Award. Learn about the previous winner, Little Prairie Hen by College Station author Debbie Leland.

Read recent cynsational interviews with Kathryn Lay on Crown Me! and Melanie Chrismer on Phoebe Clappsaddle and the Tumbleweed Gang.

Cynsational News & Links

“Whose Story is This?” by Marion Tickner, in the Story POV section of Writing Tips from the Institute of Children’s Literature.

Holy Mackerel–Ninety Children’s Books and Counting with Bruce Coville from the Institute of Children’s Literature.

Read Roger: The Horn Book Editor’s Rants and Raves from Roger Sutton.