TSRA Announces Golden Spur Nominees

The Texas State Reading Association (TSRA), the state affiliate of the International Reading Association (IRA), has announced the nominees for the annual Texas Golden Spur Award for Children’s Literature. This year’s recipient will be announced and honored in conjunction with the 50th IRA Convention to be held in San Antonio, Texas, on Sunday, May 1, 2005, in the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center.

This award has been established to honor the authors of children’s literature who reside in the state of Texas. Other criteria includes a publication date of within five years and nominations based on literary merit. To participate in the voting, or to learn more about this award, please go to

The 2004-2005 nominees and their books are:
–Alley Cat’s Meow by College Station author, Kathi Appelt;
–Bluebonnet at the Marshall Train Depot by Carrollton author, Mary Brooke Casad;
–Plaidypus Lost by Fort Worth author, Susan Stevens Crummel;
–Jazz Cats by San Antonio author, David R. Davis;
–Eric and the Enchanted Leaf: The First Adventure by Houston author, Deborah Frontiera;
–Little Prairie Hen by College Station author, Debbie Leland.

Please note that Debbie Leland’s author site URL has changed.